Skip to content
February 21, 2012 / Sarah

Carbz… and the science behind them

Oh carbz, I love you…

coffee n oats

That’d be a snack. And also a polysaccharide.

Before reading please note that my view on carbohydrates in this post is strictly performance based. NOT physique.

What is a carbohydrate? If you asked most people this question they will reply either “a food that makes you fat” or “simple sugar”. EHHH WRONG. Well, kind of… 😉

A carbohydrate is a compound of carbon, hydrogen and oxygen. In chemistry is ratio is 1 carbon atom, 2 hydrogen atoms and 1 oxygen atom. CH2O

Not all carbohydrates are created equal, there are: monosaccharide’s, disaccharides and polysaccharides.

For your basic understanding-

Monosaccharide’s are carbohydrates in the simplest form, know as simple sugars. The most common are glucose, fructose and galactose. The main function of these is energy. These are the easiest for our bodies to break down and use.

Disaccharides are two monosaccharide’s linked together by a bond. Disaccharides are also commonly known as either sucrose, lactose and maltose. Sucrose = glucose+fructose. Lactose = glucose+galactose. Maltose = glucose+glucose. Disaccharides are the nutritional source of monosaccharide’s. AKA they need to be broken down into monosaccharide’s before the body can use them.

Polysaccharides are the same as disaccharides in a way that they need to be broken down into monosaccharide’s before the body can utilize the compounds. These are chains of both monosaccharide’s and disaccharides. The most common polysaccharide is cellulose which is the primary compound in plants. Starches fall under this category.

Now, please tell me why are people afraid of these evil little carbz? Yes, they are sugars. Yes sugar stores as fat…. IF IT’S NOT USED. Out bodies need carbz…. To function, to preform and to live. Honestly if your eating a diet with the carbohydrate source primarily being veggies, starches (like sweet potatoes) and fruit then you shouldn’t even have to worry.

Personal example – I eat oatmeal everyday. I eat a sweet potato everyday and I also include other veggies and fruit. My carbs are equal to my protein. I haven’t worked out in a month, pretty sure I didn’t get fat. Stop being afraid people, trust your body.

tumblr_lp64sffV2o1r09zu5o1_500

Natural carbs aren’t the problem. High intake of the above are.

Balance what you eat, listen to your body and DON’T SWEAT IT.

Unless your going for physique, which even then the body still requires some carbz. But if your competing you should already know all of this 😉

 

What’s your take on carbz?

Favorite source??

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. allieksmith / Feb 21 2012 11:43 pm

    YEAH! I love this post! I hate when people avoid the most delicious thing ever (CARBS). 🙂

  2. Kat / Feb 22 2012 2:34 pm

    Girl I am a carb FREAK!! Seriously I could never give them up. I actually tried once, and it lasted all of 1 day. In the summer I tend to lay off the bread products though since I prefer lighter foods, but even then I love me a nice veggie burger with a thick bun! I seriously have homemade bread EVERY morning, and I am NEVER giving that stuff up! Its so delicious 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 25 2012 11:04 am

      OMG so good. Hhahah 1 day, that’s what I call some serious dedication 😉 I hear you though carbs are essential for me too! Even during paleo I do fruit like it’s my f’in job.

      MMM homeade bread that sounds good

  3. Tessa at Amazing Asset / Feb 23 2012 2:45 am

    Thank you for this post and sharing your thoughts and the info! My favorite source… hmmm pretty much any kind of cereal- natural and sugar ones 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 25 2012 11:03 am

      Thank you for reading 🙂 Hahah good choices I totes approve!!!! YUMMMMO

Leave a Reply

