Skip to content
February 17, 2012 / Sarah

Death Race 2012–task #1

The first task of the 2012 Death Race is for participants to submit a short essay on ‘why you want to compete’ in the race. I have shed a little insight on my own reasons but I wanted to give you guys a more in-depth look.

Here it goes

“To me, it is about seeing if I can finish. It is about pushing my limits past the maximum that I have previously set for myself. I first heard of the Spartan Death Race via a YouTube video a few months ago, I was immediately sold.

If someone were to ask me 5 years ago if I’d be training for the Death Race I would have said no. Circumstances change, goals change, and well, life changes. I have learned to follow my heart and instead of waiting to complete goals, to jump in head first. I am not afraid of what is to come during the race in matters of obstacles and challenges. I know I will be ready because of the love and pure enthusiasm I put towards my training. I did the Spartan Beast race, it was actually my first race ever; I am now in pursuit of something harder to conquer. I just happened to choose the death race.

My passion is health and wellness. I grew up competing with Extreme Air, a nationally competitive jump rope team. I loved it, the thrill of competition and really challenging myself. I left the team at age 11 for personal reasons. When I stopped I was missing a whole part of my life, the feeling of fear that kept me together. Doing these races, and the training it involves gives me that fear back because I am unsure of what is to come. At this point all I can do is trust myself and trust that I will finish.”

F98F70C8-A75F-4C0D-9904-CD9C82DD970B

What I’ll be doing during the race… or trying to do at least 😉

 

Have a wonderful rest of your day and thank you for all your support! xoxo

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. m. albarella / Feb 17 2012 7:26 pm

    The Beast was brutal but lots of fun. Death Race will be more along the lines of when we had to carry the 50lbs sandbag up the mountain. Except keep doing it for 40 hours and the grade of mountain will be much steeper. Are you going to submit a news article or do the 12 mile open water swim for the first challenge?

    • Sarah / Feb 17 2012 7:35 pm

      It was brutal. Death Race is going to be a huge challenege both mentally and physically. I think the hardest part will be keeping focus. I haven’t decided yet, most likely the article. What will you be doing??

      • m. albarella / Feb 17 2012 10:36 pm

        I started work on getting the article published the day Andy sent the email. My article was approved and posted in December, so I’m on to task #2. A 12 mile open water swim is gonna be at least a 10 hour task, then to have to start the race right after that is pretty crazy. Last year the few that were left around the 42 hour mark were beyond exhausted. Most started dropping after 30 hours due to hallucinations. Even if the race ends around 42 hours again this year, which it wont, it will be longer, you’re looking at 50+ hours of non stop racing. I still think they’ll make us swim some distance this year since only a handful of people voluntarily signed up for the 12 mile over the article. I’d get to work on the article if I were you, last year they wouldn’t let anyone start who didn’t have one, they take it pretty serious. Then again, if you go for the swim I’ll totally give you a high five, thats badass.

      • Sarah / Feb 18 2012 11:34 am

        I have been in contact with a local reporter and he said that he is definitly up for publishing an article for me beginning of Spring. Not sure if I want to wait until then, I’m getting antsy 😉 Last night I emailed another paper with a story inquiry so if all goes well I’ll have one out soon. If not, early spring it is! The swim sounds fun in a really sick way lol! It’s the day of my birthday actually so it’d be a nice present!!!!

        Are you heading up for the Winter DR or running in it???

      • m. albarella / Feb 18 2012 5:21 pm

        Death Race is a great way to spend your birthday weekend! No Winter DR for me, I thought about it, and a few other events, but I’m so injury paranoid that I’m going to pass. The winter course is over some of the lower elevation mountains there, but I know the grade, it’s not nice to stiff knees. Right now I’m trying to fend off stiff knees and bone spurs in my right hamstring connector. Lame. As long as you’re feeling good the Winter DR should definitely give you a good feel for what the Summer one will be like. It should make you hungrier to conquer it. On the plus side, Winters been so mild there might not be any snow to snowshoe in, so it will be interesting to see what they come up with..

      • Sarah / Feb 21 2012 2:28 am

        Yeah I’m heading up to watch the Winter… was initially going to do it. Injury striked and I’ve been out for almost a month. FInally getting back into the swing of things thankfully and getting excited for summer DR. You are right winter has been so mild, I’m curious to see what they throw at the races! Ouch knee/hamstring issues are not fun! Take care of yourself champ!!!

  2. Amy Lauren / Feb 17 2012 7:54 pm

    Oh wow, that race sounds insanely hard. But, it sounds like you have good reasons for wanting to do it, and it would leave you with a great feeling of accomplishment. I definitely agree about jumping in headfirst with your goals- I think the reason why so many people don’t succeed is because they fail themselves with all the self-debt.

    And, the keep calm image is really cool, I’m so stealing it :).

    • Sarah / Feb 18 2012 11:36 am

      It is going to be a huge challenge, but it’s all about keeping going! I agree with your reason of why people don’t succeed. Unsuccessful people are afraid of change. Change is scary, but we all have to do it. Man up, America 😉

      Hahah totally fine!!! Glad you like it!

  3. Jimmy Choos on The Treadmill / Feb 18 2012 5:38 pm

    With your determination and dedication, it doesn’t seem like you will have any trouble reaching your goal. Wishing you the best of luck!

    • Sarah / Feb 21 2012 3:51 pm

      Thanks girl! I hope I don’t have much trouble, but it isn’t going to be easy!!!

  4. Erika / Feb 18 2012 8:14 pm

    Oooh you’re doing it! SO AWESOME! Just thinking about the death race makes me want to crawl into a hole. I’m excited for you though!

    • Sarah / Feb 21 2012 3:51 pm

      SO STOKED! Hahah aww 😦 Thanks Erika!

  5. allieksmith / Feb 20 2012 7:29 pm

    I love it! You are so inspiring!!! 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 21 2012 3:52 pm

      Thank you Allie :))

Leave a Reply

