Skip to content
February 16, 2012 / Sarah

Spartan reppin and a workout

Considering I’m training for the Death Race I find it important to rep as much as possible. I’m not kidding you when I say I find myself wearing Spartan gear at least 4-5 times a week. I feel like a badass.

spartan rep

On a different note… I WENT TO THE GYM! First workout in about 4 weeks 🙂 It felt amazing. No, I’m not deadlifting or squatting or even doing any plyos yet but I’m aloud to train. Getting back to it slowly as to not worsen my current injuries. Balance people.

I’m seeing a chiropractor in hopes to help fix the alignment of my back/pelvic and figure out why my sacral isn’t healing well. Love the chiro, feels so good but it also sort of freaks me out when you hear a big crack!

I’m meeting with the orthopedic doctor next week to get results from my most recent MRI (so thankful I’m insured under my parents or I’d be in deep trouble!!) and will come up with a final game plan then. A ‘rough draft’ plan is made but once I know for sure I’ll let you guys know!

The workout I did yesterday was

  • 15 minutes on the elliptical (can’t do any impact)
  • BB rows 4×15 @ 55
  • Push ups 4×15 keeping very strict form
  • 15 minutes on the arch trainer

As much as I HATE the elliptical it is one of the only forms of cardio I can do right now so I’m willing. If I keep up treating my body with respect I’ll be back to unleashing my inner badassness training for the race in no time! If I put in the work now to heal I’ll be able to kill it soon enough. Having to take this time off to recover isn’t all that bad in the big picture. No, the timing isn’t awesome with an event in 13 weeks and the Death Race in 17 weeks but it is what it is.

tumblr_lvi8biMFG11r6ka2ho1_500

True statement.

 

PS sorry for the lack of WIAW this week! I was a wee bit excited to get to the gym 🙂

Have a good day!

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. paleorunnergirl / Feb 16 2012 2:00 pm

    Congrats on your workout!!! I am trying SO hard to fall in love with the elliptical but I just can’t! I dread every single second! However, with an ankle tendon that keeps acting up, I need to talk myself into loving it and QUICK!

    • Sarah / Feb 17 2012 3:06 pm

      Thank you girl! I hate the elliptical hahah but gotta do whatcha gotta do I guess?? Ouch hope you heal quickly!

  2. Kat / Feb 16 2012 3:21 pm

    Is it sick that I LIKE the crack sound? lol It makes me feel like something actually happened!! Plus I usually feel a huge relief after. COngrats on getting back into the gym lady!

    • Sarah / Feb 16 2012 5:36 pm

      Not at all 😉 I see your point though, like something actually happened! Thanks woman!

  3. Alexandra / Feb 16 2012 3:30 pm

    Dude I’d be wearing that shirt everywhere too, I bet you’re so stoked! And holla for being able to work out!! WOO!! 😀

    • Sarah / Feb 16 2012 5:37 pm

      Hahah so stoked! Like jumping out of my chair stoked 😉 WOOOO!

  4. GiGi Eats Celebrities / Feb 16 2012 9:43 pm

    Omg! First time in four weeks you went to the gym, I would die if I didn’t go to the gym for that long, seriously DIE! lol.

    • Sarah / Feb 17 2012 2:50 am

      It was pretty crazy taking the time off but it is what it is and my body needed it so I had to respect that. Injuries BLOW.

  5. allieksmith / Feb 17 2012 12:48 am

    Yeah! I love this post… your attitude is rockin!

    • Sarah / Feb 17 2012 2:50 am

      Thanks lady! :):)

  6. Amy Lauren / Feb 17 2012 2:46 pm

    Sorry about your sacral issues and injuries- they are definitely not fun, but it’s good that you’re listening to your body and only doing what you can do… and even better that even though you can’t do everything, you’re still doing something. You have a great outlook about things.

    Good luck with the rest of your Spartan race training! BTW I subscribed to your blog, thanks for commenting on my 12K post!

    • Sarah / Feb 17 2012 2:55 pm

      Glad you stopped on by 🙂 Thank you for the comment and for subscribing it means a lot!

      No injuries aren’t much fun! Yes, trying to keep positive and do what I can because in the end what else is the option…. to be negative and dwell, that’s just not fun! THank you for the luck with Spartan training!

  7. Meg / Feb 18 2012 3:55 am

    I love your excitement and passion for the gym 😀 So happy to hear you are getting back into it love xo

    p.s. you DO look like a badass 😉 in the best way possible 🙂 xoxoxoxo

    • Sarah / Feb 18 2012 11:30 am

      🙂 🙂 Thanks love! Hahaha ‘in the best way possible’… your great!

Leave a Reply

