Skip to content
February 6, 2012 / Sarah

And I’m now a couch potato

Hi! I hope your all having a good Monday!

This is now where I’m going to make my attempt to explain my current injuries. Try and go with me here as it’s complicated with other medical stuff as well.

I’m not looking for “oh I’m sorry”. I just want to do this post to let you all know why I’m not currently training, and also to shed some light onto the under recovery topic.

First off, I was diagnosed with bicep tendonitis about a month before my sacral (for reference).

I told you I have bicep tendonitis. It’s painful. It’s not my bicep itself that hurts, it’s my bicep head that is located in the shoulder. Thus causing my shoulder to be very inflamed. Bicep tendonitis rarely happens alone, meaning it is usually accompanied by shoulder problems that can range from minor inflammation to rotator cuff tears.

It is a fairly common injury and there are four main causes 1) overuse 2) calcifications into the tendon 3) direct trauma 4) multidirectional instability. Mine is overuse.

My doctor diagnosed this with an MRI of my shoulder, due to the pain level I was experiencing he also wanted to check my rotator. I am so thankful that I do not have a rotator cuff injury, I am however at increased risk due to the high level of inflammation in my shoulder region.

bicep

source

Initially I just modified my training: no overhead lifting, bench press (flat, decline or incline), pull ups, push ups, shoulder work and obviously not bicep isolation work. I also had to be extremely careful with all upper body lifting and made sure range of motion was 100%, the weight I was lifting had to be decreased but I was still getting  good workouts with really focusing on ROM.

After a month (also when I was starting to have rear pelvic pain) the injury was not getting better. I went back to the doctor and he said I should really consider taking some full recovery time, not just modifications. This was also the appointment I was diagnosed with re-stress fracturing my sacral.

I had to make a decision of what was more important, continuing to train for the death races or my health. At this point the winter race is out, it’s about 4 weeks away and I still am not allowed back to train for 2 more weeks. It isn’t possible for me do the race and not hurt myself more. It isn’t worth it. However, the summer race which is the one I really want to participate in is still in the plan. It’s going to be a challenge to be ready but that is why I immediately put a hault to training and jumped onto the lazy couch potato recovery bandwagon.

0817112035

No more lat raises! (secretly not very upset by this one…. shhh don’t tell)

It’s been almost 3 weeks since I’ve done any sort of training. It’s strange, not bad nor good. I’m healing and taking care of my body so that I am able to continuously push it as I grow older.

The sacral stress fracture is a whole other ball game. I’ve done it before, about 4 years ago. The fact that it’s been that long and I’m dealing with the exact same injury is not good. It means it probably never really healed, or there is an imbalance causing it to happen. You don’t really often hear of a sacral fracture, it is a really bad  injury.

I’m not going to even try to go in-depth on this one right now because I’m still not sure where I am in the healing process.

The basics though are that when dealing with a sacral fracture you have to avoid impact exercise, weight lifting (that places any stress on the pelvic) and stretching of the surrounding tendons. That’s a damn lot.

yes

source

Right now it’s a lot more mental. Trying to stay focused on the race when I’m not even sure I’ll be fully back to training until less than 2 months before it.

This whole post has been a damn lot. If your still reading this I love you 🙂 for realz

 

How would you handle this?

What is your view on the importance of listening to your body?

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. fitpeanut / Feb 6 2012 5:04 pm

    What sucks is that you have two injuries… I can totally relate because working out is so important to me and I injured my harmstring 2.5 months ago… And I had to stop working out (I wanted to do an half marathon in 2012… not a good start !).
    But since “only” my leg was injured, after 1 whole week of recovery I went back to the gym and did abs and some weight lifting (upper body only). Then after a while, I started walking again. After 7 weeks running… then yoga and now weight training.

    But if you have 2 overuse injuries, maybe you overtrain ? Crossfit is really hard and you train really hard apparently… so maybe you should do a few hard workouts and some “easy workouts” (more like an active rest day ?)

    In the past I injured a few times (just one big injury and one tendonitis though), and I pretty sure I wasn’t paying attention to my body and not taking care of it (tendonitis because I didn’t do a good warmup, some pain in my arm because I increased my weight too fast…)

    So rest and I hope you will recover asap =)

    But don”t forget, the sooner you rest and stop working out, the sooner you will be able to work out again =)

    • Sarah / Feb 8 2012 12:54 pm

      Thank you for your response! Yeah having two is definitly the kicker of bad news. I’ve had to accept that it is what it is and I can’t change anything. That is really good that you were still about to workout on some other areas without making your hamstring worse!!!

      It’s not overtraining, it’s under recovery. I’m going to do a post on it because I don’t think a lot of people look at it from that point of view (just in a general sense with injury, not me specifically). I haven’t trained in about 3 weeks now lol it’s been a little strange 🙂

      Yes, listening to our bodies is KEY because they will tell us what it wrong/if we are working toward and injury. Tendonitis is definitly a rough one.

      Thank you again my dear! Have a fab day

  2. Alexandra / Feb 6 2012 6:56 pm

    Dang I can’t fathom having two injuries like that simultaneously. Hope you get better soon so you can get back to what you love! Sending hugs 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 8 2012 12:55 pm

      Thank you much lady! 🙂

  3. lifttorun / Feb 6 2012 8:41 pm

    I’m sorry! I know you are not expecting a sorry, but still. That sucks, man. I missed your blog by the way. I don’t know what’s going on with you completely, but as far as I can tell, you are injured.Injuries of all form are terrible; especially when you’re active.
    I hope you get better soon. Feel free to catch me up on your life. (:

    • Sarah / Feb 8 2012 1:01 pm

      HEY LADY! I’m heading to your blog righthissecond. Omg I missed you, how was boot camp (well I guess I’ll go find out)?!
      Yes, I’m injured. It’s not very fun but teaching me to listen to my body better! Thank you 🙂
      We have to catch up asap!

  4. allieksmith / Feb 6 2012 10:36 pm

    Great post. You know what… injuries suck. They really, really do. But we learn from them. Even if we don’t learn a lot we at least learn patience. I’ve had to skip out on my “dream” race once before and I learned patience. I’m so proud of you for listening to your body. Rock on 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 8 2012 12:58 pm

      Injuries do suck. But yes, we also learn from them. I’m happy to read your positive insight on learning patience. Thanks Allie 🙂

  5. lindsay / Feb 8 2012 7:05 pm

    ahhh no! not good. But you will learn from this, like you said. Stronger in the end. YES!

    • Sarah / Feb 9 2012 9:27 pm

      Yes stronger in the end!

  6. Tessa at Amazing Asset / Feb 8 2012 7:43 pm

    Oh goodness I am so so sorry you are having to handle all of this! This was an excellent post though and I thank you for your honesty! You will pull through this, and I can already tell that you are mentally dealing with it very well

    • Sarah / Feb 9 2012 9:28 pm

      It’s definitly tough but if I want to be ready for the race I have no option other than to accept what’s happened and keep working on healing my body. Thanks, Tessa! 🙂

  7. Brittany / Feb 8 2012 9:50 pm

    This is so very unfortunate..injuries are no joke! I most definitely think it’s important to listen to your body 100%. I want to run and go to spin classes so bad right now, but I have developed a head cold and I know if I push myself I will never get better. Taking time off is OK! You will get back to where you were, it will just take a bit of effort. Take things easy so you don’t further hurt yourself!

    • Sarah / Feb 9 2012 9:29 pm

      Nope, they aren’t 😦 Yeah our bodies are capable to get back very easily if we treat them correctly, which is awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. WIAW–new foods edition « Peanut Butter & Deadlifts
  2. Randoms « Peanut Butter & Deadlifts

Leave a Reply

