Skip to content
January 31, 2012 / Sarah

Out on injury

Wait…. I broke my butt…again? That was my response to the orthopedic surgeon  telling me I had managed to re-stress fracture my sacral. Aka partial crack in my butt bone…. That’s a common injury, no?

No, it’s really not. Long distance/highly competitive runners are the ones usually found with this injury… not heavy lifters. But, I guess if you say I’m training for the Death Race it comes with the territory?

It could be beginning of May before I’m back, the race is June 15th. Am I freaking the freak out? YES. Am I going to listen to my body, act like a lazy couch potato, do some yoga (eventually) and eat more than I did while training (because I was way under eating)?? ABSOLUTELY. Because I want to finish that race more than anything.

Do I wish I could do this rightthissecond… (note I tried uploading a new video but after an hour gave up and went sub par with a photo)

bl challenge

A yuhp. But I didn’t listen and I needed a major slap in the face. It happened.

I think what really did it was under recovery. I don’t believe in over-training (unless dealing with injury/sickness)  only under recovery. Our bodies were created to do phenomenal things. We must treat them and continuously treat them with respect in order for them to maintain performance/health.

Growing up competing nationally in jump rope I’m very aware that injury is both easy to do but also relatively easy to heal. It’s easy to injury yourself if your not giving your body what it needs; if your not listening to the warning that it is giving you (because even if they’re small, there are always warning signs pre-injury). Some might argue on the “relatively easy to heal” but go with me here… If you follow whatever treatment plan your given than it’s usually not that bad. Really just keep up with mobility/PT work, get adequate nutrition and MOST IMPORTANTLY when allowed back to train make sure your listening very carefully to your body as it’s easy to try and jump right back in and re-injure yourself.

JR

JR days; I’m on the left, Erika on right 🙂 They called us twinsies.

The kicker? I also have bicep tendonitis. A yup, clearly listened really well to my body.

Because I’d rather not bore you all out right here over the course of the next few posts I’ll get into each injury more specifically. If you guys have any questions let me know and I’ll answer them! I know my trainer was full of them 😉

Injured/previously injured??

Let’s be controversial; is over training a real problem or is it under recovery? We are ALL entitled to our opinions and I want to hear yours!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Alexandra / Jan 31 2012 12:54 pm

    Dang that sucks! Hope your butt and bicep heal up ASAP so you’ll be ready for the death race!

    • Sarah / Jan 31 2012 4:45 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Me too!

  2. Meg / Jan 31 2012 2:05 pm

    Hey lady! Respect that body…amen 🙂 thinking of you and prayers to you and your booty. Everything will be alright soon enough and your badASS will be back with it in no time!!

    • Sarah / Jan 31 2012 4:46 pm

      Hey pretty girl! Thank you much 🙂 Lol badASS

  3. thisfitchick / Jan 31 2012 9:32 pm

    ahh sorry about that girl!! I’m suspecting an injury in my leg right now and going to get it checked out soon 😦 .. We can get through this!

    • Sarah / Feb 2 2012 2:13 am

      Injuries are no fun 😦 We can and we will get through this!

  4. Allie / Jan 31 2012 11:20 pm

    I would agree with you and say under recovery. I never thought if it in that way! I’m interested in hearing more about your injury. 🙂

    • Sarah / Feb 2 2012 2:14 am

      It’s so good to look at things in a new perspective, can totally change up views on life in general!

  5. Jimmy Choos on The Treadmill / Feb 1 2012 2:38 am

    Eeek! I hope you recover soon. I am extremely lucky and have actually never injured myself seriously. In fact, no one in my family has ever had a broken bone or severe injury.

    • Sarah / Feb 2 2012 2:15 am

      Thanks girl! I’m a tad jealous of you on that one!

  6. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody / Feb 1 2012 1:22 pm

    Oh no, I’m sorry to hear about the injury. I hope it recovers soon, hang in there friend. Thankfully I haven’t had to deal too long with any injuries in the past, just a few pesky pulls! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. And I’m now a couch potato « Peanut Butter & Deadlifts

Leave a Reply

