Skip to content
October 14, 2011 / Sarah

Eats plus a workout

Hi guys!

I figured with that last rant about nutrition that I would share with you all some of my recent eats. I’ve been doing lots of fruits/veggies for carbs along with oatmeal because my stomach seems to handle that ok. Meat/fish/greek yogurt as my protein source. Wait I left out fats, of course that would be peanut butter 😉 I also get fat from things like coconut oil, other nut butters, nuts and EVOO.

The food:

IMG_0170

Grass fed beef and broccoli topped with salsa! Whole foods medium salsa, obsessed.

IMG_0156

Apples!

IMG_0158

My favorite carb source: butternut squash cooked up in some real butter and cinnamon, nom

IMG_0166

Baby romaine/spinach mix topped with chicken breast, zucchini and previously mentioned butternut squash mix!

IMG_0148

Eggs, grapes and a kiwi

Because it wasn’t enough on it’s own to count as breakfast/pre-workout…

IMG_0151

Alongside oatmeal/ PB&CO dark chocolate dreams. Shovelin’ in the goods

IMG_0146

Green monsters made with almond milk, spinach, frozen or fresh nanas, muscle gauge cinnamon bun whey and ice. Yeah please try this combo

But don’t worry I also eat cupcakes that look like frogs.

0805111800

Case and point. That fella was gone in about .5 seconds

Let’s just say it’s best to listen to your body and feed it what it asks for. I haven’t been counting/weighting and I feel so much better! Our bodies will tell us what they need, we just have to listen.

Onto the workout… This was done group style

Warm up: ran 6 laps around the basketball court, suicides using the foul lines, lateral work with a few burpee’s mixed in

work it out:

6 different stations with 1-2 exercises. The stations that had two exercises, you could alternate as needed. 2 minutes at each station. 2 rounds.

*Burpee into DB snatch

*KB swings/ plie squats

*Walking lunges with DB’s

*Counter balance squats (squat holding a medicine ball in front of you, hold at bottom  position for a few seconds then repeat)/ jump squats

*Stair runs/ outer hip abduction on bench (with one foot on bench top and other on floor, squat down then stand lifting the leg/foot from the floor to about a 90 degree angle to your side)

*Lat pull down/ ball push ups

*Bicep curls on the BOSU/ wall jumps (jump up and down hitting the wall each time you are up) (I did wall walks)

*Knee to opposite elbow plank/ ball crunch (I held the ball with my hands and brought it up along with both feet, so like a v-up with the stability ball)

* Chair dips (did them weighted)/ box jumps

REPEAT.

As I said it was a group workout, I hit up a class called Amp’d up at my gym most Friday mornings and it’s basically an hour long plyo/body weight workout. There tend to be 3 people consistently but today there were 5 of us!

 

Ever been to a group plyo workout?

Favorite things to put in a green monster?

22 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Alexandra / Oct 14 2011 4:53 pm

    Great eats, lovin all the squash action haha and that frog cupcake is the bomb! This workout looks intense too man, I’m gonna have to give that a whirl one day fo sho 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 5:58 pm

      Ah squash is amazing! Hahah thanks the cupcake was almost to adorable to eat… ALMOST 😉 You definitly should give the workout a try, let me know if you do!

      Thank you, you too!

  2. Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) / Oct 14 2011 6:43 pm

    KAHILLER workout!!!! u go!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 8:34 pm

      Love killer workouts 🙂 Thanks girl!

  3. Corrie Anne / Oct 14 2011 8:29 pm

    Group plyo sounds intense! I’ve done some of the Insanity & P90x plyo workouts and they’re pretty tough. I actually did Insanity for a while with a group and it was definitely motivational to work out with other people to get yourself to push into all those jumps!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 8:35 pm

      It is intense, but really fun! I love the group workouts for that, having other people around definitly gets you to push yourself harder! How did you like insanity?!

  4. Allie / Oct 14 2011 9:11 pm

    Butternut squash is bomb ! I’m glad your listening to your body 🙂

    The cupcake looks amazing!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 9:27 pm

      Oh it’s so the bomb 😉 GAAAAH the cupcake was good

  5. Katie / Oct 14 2011 9:26 pm

    Your workout looks awesome! AND I love the CUPCAKE!!!!!! Yum and so cute!

    Happy Weekend! xoxo

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 9:29 pm

      Lol it was kind of tragic to eat such a cute thing, guess that’s why pictures exist?!

      Thank you 🙂 You too!

  6. lindsay / Oct 15 2011 12:37 am

    aww plyo, those are good workouts. and a green cupcake is a must. Body knows best!

    • Sarah / Oct 15 2011 11:21 pm

      Such good workouts! The body sure does know best 🙂

  7. Meg (A Dash of Meg) / Oct 15 2011 1:12 am

    wow thanks for sharing your workout 😀 sounds so intense girl! p.s. lovin’ the bnut squash too 😉 so good

    • Sarah / Oct 15 2011 11:22 pm

      Crazy stuff! Oh my gosh it’s soooooo good 😉

  8. lifttorun / Oct 15 2011 3:39 am

    I have been to several group plyo workouts. There is a class at my gym with just some plyo moves. It’s better with a group I think. That’s when I get super competitive. (;

    • Sarah / Oct 15 2011 11:22 pm

      Love plyo group style, and yes super competitive… I hear you there 😉

  9. Sarah - feeedingbrainandbody / Oct 15 2011 11:16 am

    I love the frog cupcake! I’ve never done a group plyo workout before!

    • Sarah / Oct 15 2011 11:23 pm

      🙂 You should definitly check it out, such a great workout and meet new people!

  10. Erika / Oct 15 2011 8:48 pm

    oooh thank you for the dinner inspiration! butternut squash with butter and cinnamon it is!! haha.
    Everything looks so tasty though, i love apples in the fall 🙂

    • Sarah / Oct 15 2011 11:24 pm

      Haha no problem girl 😉 Mmmm apples+fall= big time must have!

  11. Katie / Oct 16 2011 10:01 pm

    Your meals look so good! I am craving some broccoli now…seriously! LOL

    • Sarah / Oct 17 2011 4:19 pm

      Gah love the broccoli, go make some 🙂

Leave a Reply

