Skip to content
October 12, 2011 / Sarah

Possible controversial rant

Pause. Make that very quick possible controversial rant.

I just want to update you guys on the nutritionist appointment I had. Never again.

The problem: I don’t agree with modern nutrition at all. No big deal right?

Here’s the thing about recovery and nutritionists, they kind of go hand in hand. Most therapists/social works/doctors will say that in order to gain balance with nutrition and learn to properly feed your body you must meet with a nutritionist. The longer you have had an ed, the more important that becomes. Exactly what my doctor told me. The goal is to accept all food groups and get a variety and learn how each one plays an essential part in your wellbeing.

I’ve never wanted to see a nutritionist. At first I was trying to be open minded about the situation… agreed to go meet with a sports nutritionist, did that, notgonnahappenagain. Got preached on how grains are so so good and how carbs are so important for training, especially to the extent of which I am working my body.

From experience I know that I do in fact preform and feel noticeably better on a high protein/fat and lower carb intake. Tried to explain that, didn’t work so well. I was told that I need to be eating 50% carb and only about 25% both protein/fat. Goodbye 200lb deadlift, hello getting my ass kicked.

The kicker? I’m now officially doing my own nutrition and it feels great. Not counting macros or calories just simply eating when hungry. Meat, veggies, fruit, nuts/seeds, plain greek yogurt/cottage cheese (only dairy), gf oatmeal (only grain). Pretty sure I’m going back to paleo soon, very bloated and feel sick after both diary/grains. Love oatmeal, possibly worth the pain? I’ll settle for once a week. Best part, been 2 weeks back to training and my bench is where it was when I stopped. Shove it modern nutrition, you ain’t got nothing.

Note: This is totally a rant from my perspective/my body. EVERYONE is different, which means everyone’s body requires different macronutrients. I don’t believe in counting macros just that our biochemistries are not the same. Internally we don’t have the same tolerances.

I just wish nutritionists could understand this. Maybe the one I saw just sucked. But really, I’d rather save my money.

I’m looking at focusing this blog toward more nutrition/training based topics, you all dig?

Anything specific you would like me to post/rant on? Questions, comments… get at me.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Alexandra / Oct 12 2011 1:57 am

    Dude I think it’s awesome you’re doing what’s right for YOU! That’s what counts, it’s your life to live 🙂 I also seem to function better on fats and proteins over tons of carbs, they tend to make me queasy haha
    I’m stoked for your plans on the blog front, looking forward to readin all about your training adventures my friend! 😀

    • Sarah / Oct 12 2011 6:03 pm

      I hear ya on the queasy, haha blows! Love oatmeal 😦
      Training adventures are fun, can’t wait to get more into the blog/vlog(ing) about them!!! Thanks girl

  2. lindsay / Oct 13 2011 11:36 am

    speaking as a nutrition manager myself, i don’t agree with some nutritionist. Yes, you do need calories and nutrients but I am a firm believer in that EVERY body works with food differently. Find what works well for you!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 5:51 pm

      I totally should have specified that just because I saw a nutritionist and don’t agree doesn’t mean there are not some great ones out there. Maybe not for me personally but some people do really well working with them!

      EXACTLY Lindsay! Everyone has a different body that tolerates food differently.

  3. keepnthefaith / Oct 13 2011 6:24 pm

    Girl you have to do what works for you!! And good for you for realizing that. I personally do well with more carbs, but I am a soccer player and reall need those carbs stored up as glycogen for when I am playing 90 minute games. Others like you, do well without as much. It is all about finding what works BEST for YOUR body. Keep it up girl 🙂

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 5:52 pm

      Very true, it’s all about listening to your body. Yes you definitly do and it’s good that you know your body works well with carbs to fuel you through your games! Your amazing girl!

  4. Brittany / Oct 13 2011 8:02 pm

    YES every BODY is different! I think nutritionists CAN be great, but just like doctors not all of them are really in the “know” about different body types. You have to do what works for you and if you know what that is then RUN with it! I love the idea of doing more nutrition posts. ANDD I loved the vlog in the previous post!! You are so cuuuutee!!

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 5:53 pm

      Yes they totally CAN be, it just takes the right client/RD match up.
      Thank you girl, lol the vlogs 🙂

  5. Bethany / Oct 14 2011 5:01 pm

    I’m getting soooo tired of hearing about how it’s best to eat low fat, to try to cut back on meat, and that grains are so healthy. I’ve found through experimentation that I do best when I keep my carbs a little lower by eliminating most grains, and eating lots of fat, protein, fruits, and veggies. Once I cut back on my grains, I felt like I had so much more room for fruits and vegetables which are obviously far more nutritious. I think it’s important for everyone (and especially people recovering from an ED) to refrain from labeling foods as “good” and “bad”. Focus on getting all your nutrients and the proper amount of calories, and treat yourself every now and then. A slice of bread or a bowl of ice cream isn’t going to kill you! There are so many people with a black and white mentality and it’s just not a healthy approach IMO.

    • Sarah / Oct 14 2011 5:56 pm

      It’s crazy. Not even just the low fat/ minimal meat/ pro grains. I hear a lot of make sure to get a certain amount of carbs/pro pre and post workout, no carbs at night ect with all my lifting/training. Honestly some people can tolerate what others can’t. I feel like the whole nutrition topic has gona way overboard these past years, it’s TO FOCUSED. People need to just relax and listen to their bodies.

      Yes with the ed, good point. I myself work on that and I find it is totally true that with recovery you need to watch labeling food. It’s tough but necesarry because of the way that food is viewed in our culture.

      Such great points, thank you for your insight 🙂

  6. Tara / Oct 15 2011 1:02 am

    I completely agree with you! Every nutritionist I’ve ever met always preaches about having a high carb, low fat diet if you’re working out! So not true. My diet is only about 25% carbs, and I’m surviving 🙂 The focus should be on bringing people’s protein levels up and getting rid of sugar! If you’ve already worked out what works for you, then you don’t need someone to tell you different.

Leave a Reply

