Skip to content
August 19, 2011 / Sarah

Nutrition

Wadddup buttercups? Can I even tell you guys how often I am asked ‘what do you eat or how much do you eat?’ My question, why do people care so much about MY nutrition, cause guess what, everybody is different. Sure, in general you can look at someone’s diet and tweak it for yourself – but that’s just it you gotta tweak it to fit your needs. Not everyone does the same thing day in and day out so therefore calorie needs are completely different – same for macronutrient ratios. As for foods being eaten, everyone has different tolerances. For example, I’m allergic to soy whereas a vegan/vegetarian uses soy as a main protein source (usually).

My diet of choice after years of trial and error: paleo

Am I still playing trial and error? check. I am going to do 30 days strict paleo, and those 30 days are just so going to happen to start the same day as my ‘how much can you lift challenge’.

I’m not starting now because I’ll be in Portland Sunday/Monday with the Navy ASVAB/physical and I know I won’t have much options for food. Take it or leave it kind of deal. Obvs going to take it 😉

What have I been eating as of late?? (again, no copy cats aloud!) kidding, kinda. Without further ado, in no particular order –

IMG_0081

“Salad” – beef, romaine, mustard, tomato, pepper, relish

IMG_0087

Eggs with green pepper, strawberries plus almond butter

IMG_0091

“Salad” – baby greens/spinach, turkey, nectarine

IMG_0098

Best damn green monster of my LIFE. Frozen mango, pineapple, spinach, UVAM.

IMG_0100

Money shot. love steak. Why was I ever a vegan again?

IMG_0107

Prepping my favorite meal!! broccoli slaw, ground chicken…. just missing the sauce or salsa

Well that’s about all I’ve got for tonight. Questions or comments, hit me up as always.

 

Paleo? Yay or Nay? Or, haven’t even heard of it 😉

Whose doing the ‘how much can you lift challenge’ with me?!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Alexandra / Aug 19 2011 10:01 am

    Love your eats! 😀 Sometimes my days look a little paleo, but it varies with whatever my monster of a tummy is craving haha
    I’m totally thinking of doing that challenge, it sounds rad!

    • Sarah / Aug 19 2011 11:20 am

      You definitly should do the challenge, the more the merrier 🙂

      Paleo, in my opinion is a fantastic way to go but if you get by feeling good keep eating what your eating! In the end, it’s about what makes YOU feel good inside and out!

  2. lindsay / Aug 19 2011 11:09 am

    we eat paleo most of the time, besides morning. Since married to an endurance athlete, sometimes paleo doesn’t work. Like the need for carbs post long bike ride or run. But other than that, Its wonderful! Delicious too!

    • Sarah / Aug 19 2011 11:21 am

      I can see where that would present a bit of a challenge. I have been leaning more towards fats pre workout and protein/carb post, of course my workouts don’t consist of long runs/bikes!!!! It is delicious!

  3. Bethany / Aug 19 2011 1:21 pm

    I eat mostly primal foods but I’m not overzealous about it like most primal/paleo peeps. There’s no shame in chowing down some pizza every now and then! I don’t really miss grains and I feel like there’s much more room in my diet for fruits and veggies than there was when I was eating a lot of grains. However my lifts have kind of stalled lately (despite just starting 5/3/1 2 months ago) and I’m wondering if I need to add more carbs in. I plan on adding more fruits in for carbs, and if that doesn’t do the trick, I will experiment with a morning bowl of oatmeal.

    It takes a long time to really figure out your body and what works for you!

    • Sarah / Aug 21 2011 2:44 am

      I was never big on grains except for oatmeal which after the 30 days strict I plan to add back and see how my body tolerates it!!! Hopefullly good 🙂 I find I have so much more energy and I’m ready to go right after eating rather than having to wait because I’m full! My lifts have been good so far, that’s a bummmer yours are currently stalled 😦 sorry to hear that girl!

      It sure does!

  4. Ma Ma Megan / Aug 19 2011 6:19 pm

    I haven’t heard much of the paelo diet, It’s no grains isn’t it? I need my carbs or I feel sluggish, but I think it’s awesome that you found something that works so well for you 😀
    I totally agree with you on how ridiculous it is for people to constantly ask how much you eat, because we are all SO different.

    • Sarah / Aug 21 2011 2:46 am

      No grains, no dairy, no beans/legumes, no added sugar. Hahah sounds awful I know, I’m obsessed though ♥ I get so many carbs still, fruit and veg baby 😉 I actuallly feel better without grains, I was freaked at first but I’m happy about it now!

      SO SO different, true that girl

  5. lifttorun / Aug 19 2011 7:18 pm

    You’ll be in Portland? As in Portland, OR? If so, that’s where I live, man.

    I just took the ASVAB and did the physical for the Marines myself.

    • Sarah / Aug 21 2011 2:49 am

      Portland Maine 😦 Dude I so wish OR cause uh lunch date would be a must! So want a blogggie meet up!!!

      Read your post, loved it! Keep me in the loop on the whole process!

  6. chrysta / Aug 20 2011 12:32 am

    Love the eats! I agree that you just have to find out what works for ya since everyone is different. I actually think I eat more paleo without meaning too. I just love meat, eggs, veggies/fruits and nut butters. Pretty much about what i eat. Great stuff!

    • Sarah / Aug 21 2011 2:50 am

      Great stuff, agreed! I just feel reallly good with eating this way, like it was meant to be. Corny as can be I know 😉 Eggs are def my personal fav!

  7. Brittany / Aug 21 2011 9:43 pm

    I am sooo with you. I can’t tell you how many times people give me the, “so what do you eat then” question. As if because I am a vegetarian I live under a rock eating dirt. Go mind your business hombre!

  8. Jennie (Jenandberries) / Aug 25 2011 10:17 am

    I think I’d be alright on Paleo, I practically live off eggs, tuna, chicken,veg and fruit but I would miss muffins and chocolate and oats like crazy! I’m so happy to have discovered your blog here and look forward to hearing more about your lifting adventures 🙂

  9. Jennie (Jenandberries) / Aug 25 2011 10:18 am

    I think I’d be alright on Paleo, I practically live off eggs, tuna, chicken,veg and fruit but I would miss muffins and chocolate and oats like crazy! I’m so happy to have discovered your blog here and look forward to hearing more about your lifting adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

