Skip to content
May 8, 2011 / Sarah

Peace offering

Hey guys! This will be my first post of the day and it is devoted toward my online Peacemaking class! We don’t have a final but we are required to demonstrate what we learned/are taking away from the class and I choose to do a post on here! Hope you enjoy, and I’ll be be back tonight with an update! Also thank you for all your kind words about me getting back to my blog, means so much 🙂

peacemakin

Source: http://think-peace.com/?p=6750

What is peace and what does it mean to me? Peace is freedom from problems, disturbances and war. Peace is personal and social. Peace is mental. To me peace means something more than simply just a word thrown around when you feel at ease with the world. It is how you live, how you think and more importantly who you are. On any given day you can’t just say “I’m going to make peace” because in my opinion to make peace you need to understand it. It needs to be a sense of being within a person and they have to have the mental power to get in touch with it.

What isn’t peace? Peace isn’t violence, war, comparing oneself, judging, name calling, fighting, disagreements, disturbances, yelling.

(In this class we did a bunch of readings which I will link at the end of the page for any of you who would like to read.)

After looking back at all these readings I just felt at ease, the authors are all magnificent people and have done so much good with their lives that it is just motivating for me to want to follow in their footsteps. For example the Dalai Lama is such a powerful and strong message of how we are all one and we need to look at ourselves as who we really are. I took a lot away from this reading and really thought about my life and what I wanted to take away from it.

Throughout the weeks of do contemplation work and having tried different forms I found that for me writing is my best way to express myself. I am not big into meditation or yoga and I think this is because I am someone who grew up using power with what I did/do (hobbies) and I don’t like to just be sitting and thinking, I need to be doing something. Writing is something that all people should try as a form of contemplation in my opinion because it is a great stress reliever and you can then go back and read your thoughts and analyze them. For this reason it can be a great problem solver and help you get in touch with your mind.

I am really glad I took this class and will continue to use tools I have taken away from it as I continue my journey through life!

Readings: note these are not directly from the class because I can’t get you on the VHS server without a log in, but they are good ideas of what we looked at!

http://www.dalailama.com/webcasts/post/168-ethics-for-the-new-millennium

http://www.himalayanacademy.com/resources/pamphlets/AhimsaNonViolence.html

http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Articles_Gen/Letter_Birmingham.html

Have you ever taken a class (online or in school) on peace or war?

Ever read Dalai Lama?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lindsay / May 9 2011 6:51 pm

    what a great class to take! so uplifting. Keep us posted on this!

    • Sarah / May 13 2011 11:29 pm

      I loved the class! It was so nice to learn about all the different forms of peace and how to express them and yourself!

  2. Erika / May 9 2011 11:16 pm

    that sounds like such an interesting class! peace to me is definitely more of a state of mind. and i agree with what you said about writing..especially being able to go back and analyze your thoughts!

    • Sarah / May 13 2011 11:30 pm

      I love writing/journaling, which is why I blog 🙂

      I agree with you, peace is a state of mind as well, how we view ourselves and our lives!

Leave a Reply

