Skip to content
April 3, 2011 / Sarah

April fools fun and a rant/vent

Hi yah!

I love my job. This is what I come to work too:

0401012103a

See the 20?!

0401012102a

APRIL FOOLS!

0401012102

Poor 20 dolla dolla bill ya!

I made it all better though by freaking my boss out with this little number

0327011432

That would be spinach, UVAM, banana and muscle gauge cinnamon bun protein. I got this idea from Katie over at Kit Kat Kate!

 

Onto my little rant/vent…

Know what I hate? People who think they know everything, or who just make statements that are completely uncalled for.

I’m going to use training for an example seeing it’s been happening recently… When people say that you always train harder with a trainer. It would have been a true statement if stated as *most people do train harder with a trainer*. Honestly it depends on your goals. For me I wouldn’t say I half ass my training sesh’s but I usually don’t go all out either, I train with a trainer to LEARN, not to prove myself to that person. I kill myself during my own training, I don’t need to prove anything to anybody other than MYSELF.  It drives me crazy because I’ve been told numerous times to not lift before a training session, but yet I can do cardio? Might I ask, what the hell is the difference? Both are physical activity, both wear you out. Besides I’d rather lift before a sesh that way I can give 100% to my lifts. Oh but wait I forgot, everyone trains harder with a trainer. Nope, not I. Yeah, weight pre fatigue those muscles but if I’m training for leaning not performance that what’s that issue? I’m paying for it, I shouldn’t be constantly told that I’m stubborn. I am paying to learn new stuff to incorporate into my routine and check form, not to prove to my trainer that I’m awesome. Sorry, had to say that Winking smileSeriously though, I’m sick of it.

Also, why am I told to keep up with cardio? Lifting is my cardio! Ever seen me lift when I go for my lifting workouts, no? K, shush then. Why is cardio such a big deal, hello I’m trying to gain weight here not burn up all the muscle I have. Btw, I do cardio… it’s called crossfit and boxing? I’m pretty sure that is way harder than some body combat class which is perfectly okay to do before training? Wha an hour of cardio and then training? Goodbye muscles, hello hip pain. I’ll stick to lifting thank you very much.

Don’t get me wrong here I absolutely love my trainer and I trust her so much, but lately I am just about to snap!

One last thing, why can’t people just ask “why” before saying things like they have all the facts down. All I want is “Sarah, why do you not like cardio” “why is lifting so important to you” “why do you want to gain weight”…. NOT, but you look great, you need cardio, you’re stubborn. I’m sorry but I don’t think that is a lot to ask for? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Rant/vent done! That felt AWESOME!

Favorite smoothie? (please feel free to post recipes/links!)

Lifting or cardio? Or both?

Did you play/fall for any April fools day tricks?!

16 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sable@SquatLikeALady / Apr 3 2011 11:59 pm

    Blegh I just accidentally deleted my reply twice. Soooo cliffnotes of what I would have written:

    1 — I just posted a fantabulous smoothie recipe the other day — it’s peanut butter and banana flavored =D It’s the first post on my blog right now

    2 — Both! I only do cardio if I’m bored/stressed/feel way too sedentary. I like to do an average of 2 sessions of cardio/week (it clears out my lungs & sinuses and seems to help my lifts) but I don’t beat myself up if I skip cardio altogether for two weeks straight. I lift HEAVY five times a week so I’m not too worried about it, lol

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:17 pm

      I hate deleting replies, but I love your “cliffnotes:!

      1 – I just checked it out, holy yumminesss!

      2 – We are the same on this, cardio does clear me up but I also won’t freak if I completely skip it all together! Keep lifting heavy girl, you rock!

  2. Erika / Apr 4 2011 12:03 am

    you’ve got the right mindset girl..do your own thing, focus on your own goals, do what makes you happy, forget everyone else! that’s the only way to go about things 🙂

    my favorite smoothie involves frozen banana and a couple spoonfuls of peanut flour, with almond milk. delicious!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:19 pm

      Thanks girl!

      Yum, love peanut flour! I so wish TJ’s didn’t discontinue it – I def have some hoarded into my pantry 😉

  3. lindsay / Apr 4 2011 12:41 am

    oh thats just cruel! I totally thought that was a $20. As for lifting and cardio. totally depends on what your trying to achieve. For those who don’t need to lose fat, I think just lifting is key. It is a form of cardio if you do it right. well said!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:21 pm

      Hahah such a great little April fools trick!

      Thank you!

  4. Jenny / Apr 4 2011 4:09 am

    I think cardio is great for cardiovascular reasons but it’s totally not necessary. If you’re bulking I would just worry about your lifts and not cardio so much. Maybe try walking for like 20 minutes. The thing is that if you strain urself out from cardio then your weight lifting starts to suffer. I take weights over cardio ANY DAY of the week lol 😀 Love it!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:22 pm

      I agree, when I do to much cardio my lifting suffers (which I really don’t like!)

      Love lifting and I’m glad to hear you do too :)!

  5. allieksmith / Apr 4 2011 11:02 am

    Nice rant girl! Proud of you 🙂 I think you should do what ever you want to do- obviously you like lifting and why would you do something you don’t like-like cardio. People need to stop picking on you 🙂 Do what ever you want!!!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:23 pm

      Thank you girl! I agree completely 🙂

  6. movesnmunchies / Apr 4 2011 12:09 pm

    i love rants !and i think you are so right.. you lift hard.. some ppl d;ont like cardio… i personally like cardio over weights so its hard for me do weights.. and i do a bit of strength but its not for me.. opposite situations with us but the same idea!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:24 pm

      Rants are great!! Exactly, everyone has their own personal preference of strength or cardio which is fine! Do what you love and don’t force it on people, that is the best way to go about it in my personal opinion 🙂

      Keep doing what you love girl!

  7. kbwood / Apr 4 2011 2:30 pm

    Hey beautiful!!!!!! Thank you so much for your sweet comment! So thankful for you. And i LOVE WEIGHTS!!!! you are awesome – i love how driven you are! lifting heavy was one of the best decisions for myself physically and mentally 🙂

    • Sarah / Apr 6 2011 3:22 pm

      Of course my dear!! You are quite awesome yourself!

      Weights are the bomb, ha! Thank you girl 🙂

  8. Alexandra / Apr 4 2011 6:21 pm

    AMEN! Speedy lifting is the best cardio if you ask me. It’s sad seeing people do hours and hours of cardio at the gym and wonder where the muscle/”toned” look is. Like others have said, I’d taking lifting over cardio any day! 🙂
    Just keep doing what you’re doing, you’re already so successful and motivated girl! Besides, if they keep bugging you, you could threaten to whoop their butts and show them how much you lift, that’ll shut em up haha! 😉

    Hmm fave smoothie would probably be strawberries+banana+greek yogurt+peanut butter+vanilla protein powder. Nummy nummy!

    • Sarah / Apr 6 2011 3:24 pm

      Agreed with the cardio tidbit! Many people have asked me at the gym how I stay in shape with minimal cardio – I tell them cardio burns muscle and if you want to be “toned” than you NEED to lift heavy, “toned” another thing I get off on, doesn’t exist and I wish people would just stop throwing the darn word around, it’s just body fat %, big whooop 😉

      Thank you girl, so glad to have your support ♥

      That sounds delish, will be trying a smoothie with greek sooon!

Leave a Reply

