Skip to content
March 26, 2011 / Sarah

Bad hip? Say what?!

Guess what I ate for breakfast with my lovely friend Lauren?!

If you guessed a breakfast sandwich with bacon, egg and cheese on a bagel with home fries, a mountain of ketchup and coffee, you are right!

0326010908

Onto my hip. Yeah, I have hip dysplasia… my left side. For those of you who are not familiar with this (I’m sure not many are, it’s super rare in humans! dogs, not so much!) Anyways, what is hip dysplasia you ask? In short terms it is an abnormality of the hip socket. For me, instead of having that perfect C shaped socket it is more like an L (I need to get a picture of my x-rays for you all!), therefore the joint is more or less always dislocated. Due to this I have a major inflexibility of my left side. For example, when sitting down to stretch I can lean and reach my right foot fully but I can’t even sit straight up when my left leg is fully extended. Here is some more detail on hip dysplasia.

My inflexibility in stick figure form:

HIP

Can I just say one thing? It sucks.

As a kid I was always extremely active so at a young age my mom could tell that something wasn’t right (they didn’t actually diagnose the issue until last summer, even though I was born with it! Dang doctors).  My pediatrician always told me to stretch more and that I would get more flexible, but no matter how much I stretched it did not help.

At the age of 5 I began jump rope, at 8 I was a nationally competitive jump roper, yes it exists! Obviously when your hip socked is not formed correctly all that impact is absolutely terrible (this answers anyone’s question who wonders why I DON’T run!) After years of jumping it started to take a toll on my “career of competitive jump rope” I wasn’t able to keep up with my age group for skills. I just didn’t have the flexibility in my left side and my knee was all messed up due to over-compensation for the inflexibility of my hip. I ended up quitting when I entered 8th grade.

Down the road a few years we jump into Junior year of HS, I ran track. I got  hip pain, knee pain, heel problems, back problems…if it existed, I had it. I was killing my body but I didn’t know why. I went back to the orthopedic surgeon who I had seen for my knee and told them to take an x-ray of every single major joint in my body because I knew that there was no way there wasn’t something wrong. There it was on the x-ray, “loud and clear” I had hip dysplasia. After years of not knowing and putting my body through the worst things for it, I had to learn to accept it. I was told I couldn’t run, jump do anything impact, so anything I had previously done. This is when lifting became more prominent in my life, because I was/am allowed to do it. There are restrictions, like watching my squats and deadlifts for example *any hip/back dominant exercises* I have to be extremely cautious with. I accept this, I was born this way and the only thing I can do is take care of myself. Does is suck? Uh, yes. Could it be worse? Uh, yes. I can either deal or quit – and I’m not a quitter.

I don’t know if this will quite make sense but I’m going to try for it.. I’ve always been a competitive athlete, dude seriously I could put crossfitter’s to shame with a jump rope 😉 even still (yeah, I still jump on occasion I just am super careful!) I never wanted to give that up, if it were up to me I’d still be competing. I loved the rush, the reward and just the passion for what I did. I feel the exact same way with what I do now, lifting and more importantly training. This is my life, my background, what I was built on. This is why I want to compete in figure, it is like the one thing I can actually compete in without killing my body. I can’t be a runner, a triathlete, a cyclist. I can lift, I can lift heavy, I can drink coffee and moan about cardio and I can rock some hooker heals, so why the hell not compete in it?

I dig stick figure drawings, don’t you?

Love you all! Have a wonderful night!

24 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. movesnmunchies / Mar 26 2011 9:14 pm

    wow i wish you best of luck! i could never do that.. ! just make sure you be careful with it!! ahhaha love the stick figures!

    • Sarah / Mar 27 2011 10:58 am

      Thank you girl 🙂

  2. Meg / Mar 26 2011 10:53 pm

    Can I please get that stick figure’s number?

    I love your attitude toward everything and I wish you the best of luck 🙂 Quitters never win, amen sista! Praying for ya 🙂

    Meg

    • Sarah / Mar 27 2011 11:00 am

      Uh nope, he’s all mine 😉 Hah

      Thank you girl 🙂

  3. Jenny / Mar 27 2011 12:18 am

    Lol stick figure drawings are the best 🙂 Good luck with your hip girl, a positive attitude will help you get through it

    • Sarah / Mar 27 2011 10:59 am

      Indeed they are! Thank you 🙂

  4. Katie / Mar 27 2011 2:17 pm

    I am pretty sure that I have a tilted pelvis. When I do a plie squat, one buttcheek is lower than the other. And, I have hip pain if i run a lot. My mom is the same way. Thanks your sharing your story. 🙂

    So, if you can’t run, how will you do cardio for prepping? It would be cool if you could just do lots of incline power walking. 😀

    • Sarah / Mar 28 2011 10:15 am

      I would definitly reccomned getting an x-ray on your pelvic area girl, don’t want to hurt yourself!! I feel you with the pain when running, I used to run daily before I was diagnosed.

      For prep I am looking into some 20 minute crossfit stuff and a lot of rowing/light spin classes. For crossfit I can do most of it because I find that if I do impact landing on two feet my body can handle it better that landing separate, so box jumps are good in moderation. I love power walking 🙂

      • Katie / Mar 29 2011 11:42 am

        Great! That would keep cardio way more interesting anyway. 🙂 And, yes, I will look into getting something done about my tilted pelvis.

  5. Ashley @ 365 things / Mar 27 2011 2:42 pm

    That stinks about your hip. You are way too young to have hip issues!!

    • Sarah / Mar 28 2011 10:16 am

      Agreed! I was born with it though so I don’t really have an option other than to deal! We live and we learn 🙂

  6. Sable@SquatLikeALady / Mar 27 2011 2:47 pm

    YOUCH that sucks. I’m so sorry. It must have, on some level, been horribly disappointing to hear the diagnosis and that you are just going to have to “make it work” in your life — but I definitely applaud you for keeping your head up and working around it!

    • Sarah / Mar 28 2011 10:18 am

      Yeah, honestly I cried when he told me I couldn’t do pretty much anything I had been doing. It was just shocking. I got over it, yes I still have trouble with in on occasion when I just want to go run or something else that is “illegal” for me to do! Ha. Thanks girl 🙂

  7. allieksmith / Mar 27 2011 7:10 pm

    My dog has hip dysplasia 😦 I see her hip move all funky when she walks so I see where you are coming from. I love your positive attitude though! You do what ya can! 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 28 2011 10:19 am

      Seee it is so common in dogs! I am so sorry to hear about your doggy though, that is awful 😦

      Thanks girl!

  8. keepnthefaith / Mar 29 2011 1:20 am

    I was born with hip dysplasia as well and had to wear braces on my legs (think forest gump, but all the way up my legs) I was a baby when I wore them though so I never got made fun of or anything, but my daddy always says it was a pain to change my diaper 😉 The doctors tell me now that is why I have flexibility issues, like I cant touch my toes, but I have been doing yoga and it is really helping!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:10 pm

      I’ve never met anyone else with hip dysplasia so it’s nice to know that you really do understand what I mean by flexibility issues! I have tried yoga a few times and I really need to get back into going!

      Thank you for sharing this with me, keep rockin’ girl!

  9. The Teenage Taste / Mar 29 2011 11:19 am

    Sorry to hear about your hip. I can’t believe it took doctors so long to diagnose! It’s so cool that you were a jump roper though, thats awesome!

    Have a great day!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:11 pm

      I know, 16 years seriously?

      Jump rope was my life, I love it! Such a fantastic workout/sport!

      YOU have a great day as well 🙂

  10. kbwood / Mar 29 2011 11:47 pm

    soooo sorry about your hip girl! I know you dont like anything holding you back (just like me) be careful and rest it!

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:13 pm

      Yeah it is tough at times when it gets sore and I just want to do a killer workout but I can’t because I need to rest it. I know it could be much worse though so I just try to keep it positive 🙂

      Thanks girl!

  11. Ellie / Mar 30 2011 12:44 am

    hiii! haha what a cute blog title you have! quite easy to remember too 😀

    • Sarah / Apr 4 2011 1:14 pm

      Ha thank you 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Update part 1: College & the Navy |

Leave a Reply

