Skip to content
March 13, 2011 / Sarah

Gaining muscle: what I eat

IMG_0076

Turkey sandwich w/ romaine, pepper, tomato, mustard on whole wheat bread. Carrot sticks w/ almond butter for dipping and dark chocolate

IMG_0081

“Salad”: slice of whole wheat toast ripped into pieces, romaine, pepper, turkey, cheese, dijon mustard

IMG_0084

April’s peanut flour pancakes topped with some agave and a packet of Justin’s chocolate almond butter

NO these are not all my meals of 1 day, they actually aren’t even all from the same day, ha! I eat 6-7 meals depending on when I do my workout or if it’s a rest day!

As for the paleo thing, I was losing weight… My body does not do well on lower carb “diets” and I couldn’t go long without my beloved oatmeal! I still eat a lot of fresh veggies+fruit, meat, fish, nuts/seeds but I also incorporate oatmeal, bread, peanut butter, greek yogurt, cottage cheese, whey protein and flax cereal (I mix it with yogurt and protein – so good PWO!) I have to say I was more focused with not eating grains and had more energy for the first week but then I just crashed! Once I get some muscle on I may do some more experimenting with it, time will tell.

I also made Christine’s banana bread in cake form! I baked it in a 9×9 for 35 minutes and it came out perfect!!

IMG_0092

Banana “cake” topped with peanut butter! So GOOD!

Basic diet outline: (this is for MY body, not yours!!!)

– Around 2300-2400 calories

– 40% carbohydrates/ 30% protein/ 30% fat (zone ratios)

– I don’t count my macros by hand, I use fitday.com… Math is not my strong point!

– At least 20 grams protein per meal

– I take supplements: multivitamin, b-complex, fish oil, glutamine, calcium

– I use whey isolate on days that I am having trouble with protein, or if its leg day!

– I eat right around 35 grams of carbs + 20 grams protein pre and PWO. Usually oatmeal or sweet potato for PWO carbs.

– I DO NOT limit my fruit intake! I do however tend to eat more fruit in the morning/afternoon than night time, just personal preference! I find it gives me more energy and I don’t need that at night time, trust me 😉

– I do eat cruciferous veggies, but I watch my intake because they leave me really full for hours! It’s hard to eat when your full so I find I‘d rather just skimp on eating them for now!!

I’m sure I forgot some stuff but that’s the basics! If you have any questions, feel free to comment or shoot me an email @ lacourse.sarah@yahoo.com!

Have you ever tried to purposely gain some muscle weight?

RIGHT NOW… go make the banana bread and peanut pancakes, legit to die for!

Have a wonderful night!

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. movesnmunchies / Mar 13 2011 7:53 pm

    sounds like a great plan! and you are right.. what works for you isnt how others should do it too!!

  2. Katie / Mar 13 2011 9:19 pm

    Your macros sound a lot like mine. I try to eat around 2,100-2,300 calories a day, depending on my activity level. Right now I am eating carbs at every meal. It’s working well for me. I don’t think my body would be able to handle a low carb diet for very long. But, in the future I may experiment with it. Esp. when I compete. I try to keep my protein around 140-160 grams a day, but it’s usually over. My carbs differ from day to day. And fat is anywhere from 50-70 grams. I need to make a more well-defined daily intake outline of my macros. I am going to make a good, solid meal plan to stick with for a few weeks and see what happens. I don’t have much time anyway, so a good plan will be nice.

    Thanks for the email! I will respond soon!

    • Sarah / Mar 14 2011 12:22 am

      Haha just thought of one I forgot, I eat carbs at every meal EXCEPT my last meal which is right before bed and protein/fat 95% of the time!

      Your diet is legit the same as mine more or lesss with protein/fat grams!! I’m always over protein, hahah love my steak 😉

      Try out fitday.com – just add your custom foods and it does all the macro stuff for you!!

      Of course girl, can’t wait to hear back 🙂

  3. Jenny / Mar 13 2011 9:19 pm

    Loving the pancakes and banana cake yum! A few months ago around in August I started a bulk with the intention of building muscle and gaining strength. My lifts were crappy and overall I didn’t look the way I wanted so a few lbs on me made a difference. If January I started to cut down again after gaining around 8 lbs. My abs were pretty developed, I looked better, but for some reason the weight I gained wasn’t comfortable. I only cut down 3 lbs and am considering gaining a bit more to even out. 🙂 Whatever works for you

    • Sarah / Mar 14 2011 12:23 am

      Both of them are so goood!

      I can’t wait to start gaining! Thats awesome that you did a bulk and are thinking of gaining some more 🙂

  4. allieksmith / Mar 14 2011 11:30 am

    You go girl! So happy for ya doing what is right for YOU personally 🙂 I love how you don’t push your food/diet ideas on others and you can realize when something does or doesn’t work out for ya! 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 14 2011 4:34 pm

      Thanks girl 🙂

  5. Sable@SquatLikeALady / Mar 14 2011 2:06 pm

    Your diet looks really similar to mine! I am currently just maintaining (not bulking or cutting) at 1900-2100 cals (depending on the day…leg days I usually bump it on up to 2200 haha) but I am planning a bulking phase next fall/winter 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 14 2011 4:35 pm

      Hahah I love leg day 😉 Yeah, bulking the the fall/winter is best, then you can surpirse everyone come spring time – I jumped on the bandwagon a little late! Oh well!

  6. Laura / Mar 15 2011 3:42 pm

    so i’ve been a total slacker lately, sorry! I hardly check my e-mail anymore, and that’s how i was keeping up. SO i’m just going to comment on the last three in this one 🙂 Even though I could already tell you’re really happy now, I’m still glad that you’ve realized how much better life is without your ED. You’re not going back again this time, I can tell. And I’m glad you have your college plan worked out, you’re ahead of me! I neeeed my cell phone back, I can’t believe I didn’t know this stuff!! Also, it’s good to see that you’re eating PB again, I’m sure you were dying without it 😉 love yaaa, can’t wait to die in combat with you friday!!!

    • Sarah / Mar 15 2011 8:40 pm

      No worries girl, I know your a busy bee! Aw, thank you! I know you neeed your phone 😉 Yes, love my peanut butttter – so goood!

      I can’t wait until friday!! BC 🙂

  7. nevernotdreaming / Apr 9 2011 5:21 pm

    Your eats look yummy. I admire your physical abilities much.
    I’m a bit dairy fanatic…I know I should cut back, but…

    nice blog.

    • Sarah / Apr 12 2011 10:24 am

      Thank you girl 🙂
      Dairy is so so so good!!

Leave a Reply

