Skip to content
March 9, 2011 / Sarah

College game plan

Here is my game plan for college, although when do things ever go exactly as planned? I’m open for whatever comes up, but at this moment in time my gut is telling me to do as follows:

  • Attend community college to get my gen-ed’s done
  • While attending CC get my training certification for both personal training and to become a les mills instructor (fingers crossed!) for body pump or RPM!
  • Transfer to a four-year college/university for something health related (nutrition, kinesiology, exercise science, ect)
  • While in school continue to do training on the side!

That’s the plan, whether it actually happens step by step like that will be determined in years to come! All I know is that I’m definitely attending community college next year! I’m looking into Northern Essex CC, but it’s not set in stone yet or anything! I’ll keep you all posted! Really though, I’m down for saving thousands of dollars 🙂

This is a food blog, so I won’t leave yah hanging!

IMG_0057

Dinner from yesterday: hamburger (it cooked way faster on the outside!), an apple and broccoli/green beans mixed!

IMG_0061

Today’s breakfast: omelet made up of an egg, 140 grams egg whites, spinach, mozzarella cheese, and a cut up chicken sausage! I also had a slice of toast with almond butter and some cantaloupe!

IMG_0074

Today’s lunch: chicken, green beans, sweet potato w/ cinnamon and a whole lotta PB!

Did you go to community college first or right to a four-year school?

Favorite omelet fillers?!

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sable@SquatLikeALady / Mar 9 2011 9:47 pm

    I was a snob in high school…I got into Georgetown University but without any scholarships, very little financial aid and no money saved — and when my guidance counsellor suggeseted I start out at a community college I shot her down thinking I was “better” than that (not my proudest moment). Long story short, I couldn’t afford Georgetown, wound up not going to ANY college that fall (which spiralled into not starting college for 3 years)…and now I am attending a community college, which honestly offers an incredible education at a great value.

    Moral of the story? You are way smarter than I was at your age. (Now having said that I feel like I’m 82)

    Second moral of the story? That’s an awesome plan 🙂 Training is a great career in that you can schedule your own clients around YOUR schedule (at most gyms).

    • Sarah / Mar 10 2011 8:18 pm

      Thank you for sharing your story! I am glad to see your support with this game plan 🙂

  2. Ayla / Mar 9 2011 10:19 pm

    I’m finally going to school in the fall (I’ll be 20!) but I’m just going straight to university. I’ve already taken 2 years off after graduating high school and I’m getting anxious to finally move out, go to school and start my life!

    As for omelets.. I don’t eat them. Mostly because I don’t eat eggs anymore (usually). Even when I did eat eggs I.. well.. never liked omelets. 😮

    • Sarah / Mar 10 2011 8:19 pm

      You will do great at school my dear!

      I used to hate omelets, and I do mean HATE! Ha which I think is ironic because I eat them daily now 😉 Do you miss eating eggs more?

  3. Maryann (The Balanced Bean) / Mar 10 2011 1:17 am

    I didnt because I was recruited to swim in college but my bro did and I think it is a fantastic idea. Why spend extra money for GEs when you can get them done for much less $$. And then youll have extra time to decide on a university too! Its a win-win and I think youre smart for making that choice 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 10 2011 8:20 pm

      Exactly my thought! College is so expensive these days that anyway I can save some cash, I’ll in! Thanks girl 🙂

  4. Jenny / Mar 10 2011 3:54 am

    I went straight to university but most of my friends did their first 2 years at a community college 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 10 2011 8:20 pm

      How did you like going straight to a university?!

      • Jenny / Apr 8 2011 6:32 pm

        I loved it. I do think the other route is cheaper but overall I had a better college experience than any of them 😀

  5. allieksmith / Mar 10 2011 1:55 pm

    Sounds like a good plan to me girl 🙂 Do what your heart is telling you 🙂 I have changed my mind so many times already but I refuse to feel guilty as long as I am happy with my choices, you know?! I know you are smart so everything will work out for ya! You would be an AWESOME personal trainer btw!

    • Sarah / Mar 10 2011 8:22 pm

      I agree 100%! I’m glad to hear your happy with your choices, it’s fine to change your mind even a million times because our ambitions and goals change and we have to chase them!

      Haha thank you!!

  6. thefitacademic / Mar 11 2011 4:52 am

    I changed schools a bunch as an undergrad. My first year I moved away to a 4-year school, but after the first year I wanted to go back HOME so I took classes at a community college there for a year before transferring to another 4-year school for the last 1 1/2 years until I graduated.

    • Sarah / Mar 11 2011 6:44 pm

      Thank you for sharing! I feel that if I went away I’d just end up coming back to go to community, right now going to a university just isn’t my jam 😉

Leave a Reply

