Skip to content
March 2, 2011 / Sarah

Hot mess

Wassup?

I walked into my house tonight to be bombarded with the smell of homemade pizza. Thank you, parents.

This was my dessert before dinner:

IMG_0036

It’s okay to be jealous, I savored each bite of that (oh, there was pepperoni under that cheese!)

Once again I am spot on for my macros today, but I’m only at 2100 calories! Your probably asking yourself “why is 2100 calories bad?” Well, I’m trying to gain weight. Yes, I said it – GAIN! I’m 5’0 and around 105, with my activity level my maintence is 2100. I’m trying for a 10% surplus which puts my goal right around 2300. I’m not going to lie, it’s hard for me. After years of restricting my body is not used to this amount of food, last night I got to the point where I actually felt so sick I couldn’t finish my dinner! And, it was steak 😦 I find I can eat more in the mornings/early afternoon that evening/night so I’m going to start planning my first 3-4 meals higher calories and then the last two lower.

I did chest/shoulders this morning(check out my training page), it was awesome… PR on bench! I also took a spin class, because I promised the instructor I’d go this week! Damn, that class was hard…. I left a hot mess. Legit, dripping. It was awesome.

Have you ever taken a spin class?

28 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryann (The Balanced Bean) / Mar 2 2011 1:21 am

    That pizza looks delicious! That sounds like a good plan, I always try to eat bigger meals in the mornings too (its usually easy because I always wake up hungry!). I have taken spin before and tis a great workout but sooo hard! I have to say its not my favorite 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 2:22 am

      It was so yummy! I’m glad you like spin, it is a toughy though 😉

  2. lindsay / Mar 2 2011 2:20 am

    I’ve taught spin for years! Love it!! And you can do it, just 200 more calories.

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 2:23 am

      So much fun!! Woo, I know… protein shake calling my name!

  3. allieksmith / Mar 2 2011 2:41 am

    Go you! The pizza sounds delish 🙂 Spinning is awesome and a total butt kicker haha. I hope the gaining goes well, some people would love to have the ‘problem’ of trying to gain weight vs. lose it !

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 11:57 am

      Such a butt kicker!

      Thanks girl! I feel like gaining (healthy) weight is just as hard as loosing it when you add in all the variables! I mean I could go eat 10 pizzas a day, but that’s not exactly my idea of healthy!

  4. april / Mar 2 2011 2:52 am

    I’m the same way- Im way hungrier in the mornings so it’s easier to plan accordingly!

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 11:58 am

      Yeah, by night time I’m full from everything else 🙂

  5. movesnmunchies / Mar 2 2011 12:37 pm

    sounds like a great plan you got!! you can do it girl only 200 extra cals! easy!

  6. ihearteggs / Mar 2 2011 4:37 pm

    Mmmm pizza!

    I’ve taken spin classes before… not a huge fan, but my gym is really weird about spin, they scream and holler and it’s just not my scene!

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 5:01 pm

      Good pizza 😉

      Some of the instructors at my gym holler but it’s not too bad! It’s usually just to get the class motivated!!

  7. Kayla / Mar 2 2011 5:10 pm

    No I’ve never taken spin! I want to, though!

    Good luck with gaining weight, I WISH I had to gain weight 😉

    • Sarah / Mar 2 2011 8:11 pm

      You’ve got to try it out! Thanks girl, and you are beautiful just how you are ♥

  8. Ayla / Mar 2 2011 10:42 pm

    I’ve never taken a spin class but I want to! One day. They seem really intense.

    We should trade appetites, I could easily down 2300 calories. Happily.. haha. 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 3 2011 1:18 am

      You should definitly take one, such a great workout!

      Haha can we please? 😉 My stomach just is not used to volume, especially with it being all really healthy veggies, proteins and fats! Give me 2300 worth of fro yo and I’ve got no isssue!

      • april / Mar 5 2011 10:09 pm

        Nothin wrong with froyo! Whatever gets your cals up 🙂

  9. Erika / Mar 2 2011 11:00 pm

    I’ve never taken spin, but I want to! I don’t think any of the cheap gyms around me have it though!
    Good luck with the healthy weight gain! I had to do that a while back and nut butters were my best friends. Heck, nut butters are still my best friends! 😉

    • Sarah / Mar 3 2011 1:20 am

      Such a great class/workout! You should check http://www.lesmills.com/northeast/classes/find-a-class.aspx to see if there are any gyms with RPM near you, it’s like the same as spin but the Les Mills version – addiction I tell you 😉

      Nut buttter are my best friend too 🙂 I will definitly be incorportating more while in my gaining stage!

  10. kbwood / Mar 3 2011 4:15 am

    i LOVEEE me some spin girl frand 🙂 and home made pizzzaaa!

    • Sarah / Mar 3 2011 11:20 am

      I feel yah, spin and pizza are two of my favorites 🙂

  11. Jenny / Mar 3 2011 7:20 pm

    That pizza looks amazing!!! I am jealous! And omg I could do some serious damage with 2300 calories lol I was recently bulking at 2100, gained a good amount of muscle, and cut back down. Now I’m just maintaining again. 🙂

    • Sarah / Mar 3 2011 8:24 pm

      Thanks girl! Hahah yeah, I’m looking to add about 5-10 pounds of muscle!

  12. Sable / Mar 4 2011 6:05 pm

    YUM pizza! That looks incredible!

    I love/hate spin. Such a good workout but so sweaty! And I hate sitting on the bike for more than a minute at a time lol it makes my butt hurt!

    Also: I love the title of this blog haha!

    • Sarah / Mar 4 2011 7:16 pm

      I feel yah when it comes to spin! Love/hate relationship I’ve got with those bikes!

      Haha, thank you 🙂

  13. Amara / Mar 4 2011 10:04 pm

    First time I took a spin class it was taught by my friend a sponsored Ironman triathlete, and I almost blacked out when I stood up. Can’t beat spin for a serious workout.

    • Sarah / Mar 5 2011 1:56 am

      That’s rough! Yeah, it is a tough one!

  14. Tamizn / Mar 12 2011 1:12 pm

    I have indeed, I’m actually a qualified spin teacher and I love it! Such a fab high energy workout x x

Leave a Reply

