Skip to content
February 14, 2011 / Sarah

Paleo-“ism”. An introduction

What is paleo?

(sorry for the bad photo, but it describes “paleo” well!)

IMG_0018

Food in it’s simplest form.

Food that had a mom or came from the ground/ a tree.

Food that isn’t processed.

Food that doesn’t have added junk (preservatives, artificial flavors, coloring). If it’s got a shelf life, count it out.

No grains.

No dairy (I’ll get back to this!)

Eating as our ancestors did (hunter gatherers!) not modern day agriculture.

So what the heck can I eat?

 

A Healthy Food Pyramid...not to be confused with the USDA Food Pyramid

Source: http://crossfitimpulse.com/nutritional-first-steps

Real food. Meat, seafood, vegetables, fruits, nuts, seeds. I understand people have a budget – so here are some tips:

Start in the meat section: it is important to get high quality meat/seafood! Nitrate free deli meats. Grass fed beef, hormone free and antibiotic free. Buy wild seafood! Salmon, mahi mahi, and halibut are awesome!

Next, move onto the produce section: try to buy organic whenever possible! I know it is expensive so my personal recommendation would be to stick to keeping organic with the dirty dozen! I always buy organic apples, grapes, spinach, tomatoes, lettuce, peaches, peppers, pears, and berries. I try to get other produce organic when I can but my budget gets tight!

Lastly, go get some fat! No, not your dang salted mixed nuts. Raw almonds, walnuts, macadamias, almond butter, coconut (raw, oil or butter), olives, olive oil.

Here is an extensive paleo food list: http://www.crossfitdenver.com/2009/03/the-paleo-diet-food-list/

Personally, I still eat greek yogurt and cottage cheese a few times a week. I just keep it to plain and mix in my own fresh fruit 🙂 I will say I do notice I always have a stomach ache a few hours after I eat dairy but I’m not sure whether my body is just adapting to this diet still. I’ll keep you posted.

I’ve played with this diet before, left it, went back, left it and now I’m back. I like meat, I’m not going to lie. It’s good. If someone were to ask me wild rice or grass fed beef? Dude, beef. I just want to feel good and have energy. This diet works for me, and it works for a lot of other people too! Do what you think is right, don’t go with the flow. Listen to your body.

At first I just wanted my oatmeal back, I was addicted. Our bodies become addicted to grains. After a week of strict paleo eating I don’t even want it anymore.

Have things changed?

  • I definitely have more energy
  • I am sleeping all the way through the night! I was waking up a good 4 times!
  • I am satisfied with what I’m eating. I’m not at the point where I want to eat my own arm off between meals/snacks!
  • Kick ass workouts
  • I get sick when I eat peanut butter. Yes, I just said that. I get a stomach ache. Almond butter may become a replacement… sorry peanut butter and deadlifts!
  • Can’t tolerate that much dairy. I eat to much yogurt and I get a massive headache and cramps! I love greek yogurt though  ♥ I’ll suck it up
  • Have to plan a little more ahead to make sure I’ve got everything ready for the day! (I.E have enough thawed meat/fish for the next few days, veggies cut up, ect)

I’m sure there will be more I notice and I will keep you posted!

There are a lot of “diets” out there, I just believe this one is actually onto something. I support every persons own choices for what they eat, which is why I said before, listen to YOUR body, not mine.

I’m going to do a series of posts on paleo eating, this is just the beginning!

Thoughts? Questions?

Have a great day!

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. movesnmunchies / Feb 14 2011 6:02 pm

    wow.. i def think its very interesting! wait so can you eat grains or no??.. thats my fav source of carbs ahah.. altho im vegan i love learning about other diets so thanks for sharing!

    • Sarah / Feb 15 2011 1:09 am

      I love it 🙂 And, no grains!

      How do you like being vegan? I’d love to see a post on it!

  2. Maryann / Feb 15 2011 12:58 am

    Loved learning about paleo finally! Thanks for this post 🙂 Giving up dairy would be so hard for me, but other than that it seems like I tend to eat that type of diet!

    • Sarah / Feb 15 2011 1:10 am

      Of course! There will be more to come on the subject! Yeah I love greek yogurt and couldn’t give it up! haahh

  3. laura / Feb 17 2011 3:27 am

    i’m proud of you for sticking to it! Since I have no self-control, I don’t think I’ll be trying this anytime but I’m glad I know exactly what you eat now! And I’m shocked by this peanut-butter news…you’re gonna have 123093 jars left now 😉

    • Sarah / Feb 19 2011 5:24 pm

      I know! I have so much PB in my house! I stilll eat it, just not 10 spoonfuls at a time 😉

  4. Erika / Feb 17 2011 9:25 pm

    Great post. I’ve always been confused as to what paleo was and you explained it perfectly. Thanks! I look forward to reading more about the paleo diet. 😀

    • Sarah / Feb 19 2011 5:24 pm

      I’m glad you liked it! Thank you!

  5. allieksmith / Feb 19 2011 4:21 pm

    AWESOME post! This is so informational, thanks for sharing :]

    • Sarah / Feb 19 2011 5:25 pm

      Thanks for reading 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Workout Wednesday « Peanut Butter & Deadlifts

Leave a Reply

