Skip to content
January 12, 2011 / Sarah

What I eat, and why: part 2

I’ve tried going gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, paleo, and just eating whatever the heck I want too ( I like this the most!). There were some noticeable differences between these “diets”. I hate the word diet.

Gluten-free: This went pretty well. I ate a lot of fruits&veggies, gluten free cereal, chicken, turkey, and yogurt. My system handled it well but I found I was lacking MAJOR energy. Now, I don’t know if I just simply wasn’t eating enough calories a day for how many I was putting out or if my body just wants gluten, which seems a bit odd to me!

Vegetarian: Fake meat, eggs, egg whites, almond/soy milk, beans, nuts, seeds, yogurt, fruits&veggies. This went terrible! I ended up seeing a gastroenterologist to finally come to the conclusion that I can’t digest SOY! Yeah, this didn’t work well for me because of that at all! With out the soy it wasn’t bad, I used whey protein a lot.

Vegan: LOTS of fruits&veggies, nuts, seeds, beans, brown rice, oatmeal, cereal, almond milk. My body doesn’t do beans well either, I get terrible stomach pains! Vitamin deficiency much? Yes. I was majorly lacking protein and my workouts sucked. I had absolutely no energy no matter how much I ate. If you’re a vegan/vegetarian – that is great, I completely respect you. Just not my thing! If I could have eaten soy and handled beans better it might have been a different story.

Paleo: My body LOVES this. Steak, chicken, fish, turkey, grass fed beef, nuts, seeds, fruits, veggies. I’m okay with this, I really like meat so it works. However, I’m a fan of oatmeal, peanut butter, chocolate, luna bars (every so often, they’ve got soy!), cereal, yams, and many many other things that don’t fall into this “diet” plan. To me, it is very restrictive and with my ED past, I am weary of letting myself be this restrictive with what I eat.

Whatevaah: This is the best for me. If I am hungry, I eat. Now don’t get me wrong, I won’t go to Mcdonalds and order a double cheeseburger, but if I want fro yo or some pasta, I am not going to have a freak attack saying “but, it’s not in the plan!”. I still eat mostly very healthy to keep my body thriving and my energy levels high so that I am able to get through my workouts and my day to day life with a smile!

Personal favorite? If you’ve never had this, go buy some.

IMG_0225

What “diets” have you tried for your body? What works the best for you?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Meg / Jan 12 2011 2:30 pm

    I’m forced to be gluten-free because of my Celiac disease, but I never noticed a drop in energy as you did! Maybe you were missing out on calories like you said, it’s easy to do when you have to cut out so much! I’m glad you found a good place for your body and soul 😀 feels good!

  2. This Italian Family / Jan 12 2011 7:05 pm

    I can’t have sugar, caffeine or MSG because of a heart condition so I have to restrict myself on all of those. It’s been so long now that I really don’t even think about it anymore and am never tempted by what I can’t have.

    Since I’m forced to give up so much already, I don’t restrict myself from other foods. I’ve discovered lately that I’m having some problems with dairy so I eat less of it, but by no means have given it up. I eat what I want, when I want. My biggest struggle is to always be careful of portion sizes and to break the learned habit that I MUST clear my plate even if I’m not hungry.

  3. april / Jan 12 2011 8:13 pm

    Mines always a work in progress! I have a ‘mystery’ GI system per all the GI doctors I’ve seen, so I’m constantly having to try new diets, new meds, etc. But for me I’ve found doing lowish carbohydrates and not too much wheat helps a lot! And my body loves high protein too!

  4. laura / Jan 13 2011 2:40 am

    i like the whatevahh diet. especially since we’ll be going out for lunch next week, no restrictions!

Leave a Reply

