Skip to content
January 7, 2011 / Sarah

Feeling a little off

Hey!

For starters I have a cold 😦 No biggie though, just upping my cough drop and vitamin c intake. Is it possible to over dose on cough drops?! Luden’s cherry, I highly recommend. Secondly I think I’m either in the wee stages of getting a stomach bug OR my body is not handling my meat intake well.

My history with/without eating meat:

As far as my childhood goes, I would consume meat 2-3 times a day. That’s how I was raised and I never was one to question that, besides I really enjoyed it. When I entered 8th grade I became a vegetarian, I just seriously was freaked out by the thought of eating animals.  I struggled with an eating disorder, which also began around that time so I definitely link my becoming vegetarian to that. I went vegan my sophomore year, and ended up developing a few vitamin deficiencies (B, iron and I was not getting enough calcium at all!) I swapped back to being vegetarian because in all honesty I am OK with eating dairy, there is absolutely no animal rights reason there for me. The main reason I went vegan was to please my ED. From sophomore to senior year I have dabbed back and forth from vegan to vegetarian, to now eating meat! I feel good about it, but it’s going to be a  long process to get my system used to it again. It’s been right around 3 months for chicken/turkey and 1 for red meat. I can’t wait for the day to come when I can eat meat and not get a negative reaction from my body.

Here is to say you will be seeing a little more carbs/fats than I am used to eating on here, the protein may suffer a LITTLE. Everyone up for oatmeal/pancake pictures? However, with my workouts I know I need to be extremely careful to not sacrifice all I’ve worked for by limiting my protein! I’ll be doing meat (just less), fish (same deal), whey, and maybe some greek yogurt here and there. I just want to enjoy what I am eating, because really even though I want to do a figure show this year, I’m not training right now. I need to just relax, eat what feels right and live in the moment.

Peanut butter will always be a part of my diet though!

What is your favorite peanut butter?

IMG_0056

I tried out crossfit at an actuall crossfit gym box for the first time Thursday! I’ll be doing a recap soon on what I thought about it! Just a cliff hanger, not what I expected!

Is this not the smallest grape you’ve ever seen?!

0116000845

Are any of you sick currently?

Have a great night!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kbwood / Jan 8 2011 2:30 am

    boooo! feel better!!
    yay for meat! wont hear any complaints from me 🙂

    • RahRigby / Jan 8 2011 2:34 am

      thanks, girl! i know, i’ve missed out!

  2. Carly in Wonderland / Jan 8 2011 3:24 am

    NH is kind of lacking in he Buddhist shops but Cambridge has some great tibetan stores if you ever go to boston. Feel better!

    • RahRigby / Jan 8 2011 12:00 pm

      I wish NH had more! I’ll have to venture down to Cambridge in the near future! Thank you!

  3. laura / Jan 8 2011 3:38 am

    Mmmm peanut butter. You have an addiction.

  4. kaleighb / Jan 9 2011 5:45 am

    hey girl!

    love the blog. even though my horizons aren’t as broad as yours are when it comes to food, you really made this interesting to read!

    P.S. eat meat, its yummy.

    love youuuu ❤

  5. kaleighb / Jan 9 2011 5:46 am

    oh, and you ate one of my french fries today!!!! :0

  6. Kaylee / Jan 11 2011 12:48 am

    omg i have to agree those cough drops are the best !:)

Leave a Reply

