Skip to content
January 4, 2011 / Sarah

What I eat, and why: part 1

Sup’

Here is the beginning of my answer to your questions: what do I eat, exactly? I have been vegetarian,vegan, gluten-free and now paleo – any differences? Do I take supplements? I could go on and on (but, if you do have any specific questions I don’t answer, feel free to leave them in the comment section and I’ll be sure to answer them!)

First off, I love food, and eating.

Especially oatmeal & peanut butter!

1 4 11

The mix: oatmeal, vanilla whey, cinnamon, blueberries, strawberries (mushed under the large hunk-a pb, and peanut butter ❤

WHAT I DON’T DO:

– Take creatine

– Count calories (I will every few weeks for 2-3 days to make sure I am getting what my body needs, and that I am consistent with it!)

– “Cheat meals/snacks”. I don’t crave them, ever. Yes, I will eat cake for birthdays ect, but I don’t consider that to be a “cheat” meal. Seeing I allow myself to eat a reasonable amount of chocolate, peanut butter and occasionally other sweet things, eating clean the majority of the time does not bother me in the least.

WHAT I DO:

– Eat 6-7 meals each day. I swear to you I have a bottomless pit for a stomach, I can eat copious amounts of food and be fine by it. Oatmeal eating contest, anyone 😉

– I eat every 2-3 hours, if I don’t do this I get way to hungry and end up feeling really sick!

– Use whey protein/ take a multivitamin, vitamin D, calcium and fish oil.

– Measure macro nutrients: I eat right around 40% protein, 30-35% carbs, 25-30% fat.

– I drink a TON of water, and tea. I especially love green, and yogi chai roobios tea (give it a whirl if you have not tried it!)

– Eat within 45-60 minutes of going to bed! If I don’t do this I will wake up in the wee hours of the morning with the worst stomach ache and nausea. I’ll eat any combination of carbs/protein/fat, I do try for 20+ grams of protein however, but I’m not one too shy away from carbs late at night!

– I own a food scale and weight the majority of my food, I find it keeps me accountable for my workouts.

I am off to have some dinner, thinking steak and veggies! Stay posted for part 2 and probably 3!

Have a wonderful night!

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. april / Jan 4 2011 11:34 pm

    We eat very similar! Too cool. I have to eat every few hours too or my blood sugar crashes and I become cranky and wiped!

    • RahRigby / Jan 5 2011 1:32 am

      Woo! Yeah, it is not much fun – not that I mind eating every few hours though 😉

  2. Kristina @ Life as Kristina / Jan 5 2011 4:39 am

    Love your blog! Enjoyed reading your do’s and don’ts i’m right there with ya!

  3. Kayla / Jan 5 2011 8:17 pm

    Great post! Just over the last few days I’ve realized that I also need to be eating every 3 hours. If I don’t, I get tummy grumbles! I think it’s because I’m being more active, it didn’t used to be this way!

    • RahRigby / Jan 5 2011 10:07 pm

      Thanks! Yeah, when I started upping my lifting intensity I also had to start eating WAY more… I’m just always hungry! I would def recommend 6 meals a day, it helps me so much!

  4. Linda Albright / Jan 5 2011 9:00 pm

    Hey Sarah,
    So I am interested in creatine. Why don’t you want anything to do with it? What are the pros and cons of supplementing with creatine?

  5. Sara K / Jan 6 2011 12:22 am

    I definitely feel you with the eating every 2-3 hours! I’m the same way- can never understand those people who only eat like one huge meal a day! Craziness!

    • RahRigby / Jan 6 2011 6:07 pm

      I know, I could never go with not eating every few hours!

  6. Meg / Jan 6 2011 2:32 pm

    Oh, so we’re twins. Just fyi. I do prettymuch the EXACT same.

    • RahRigby / Jan 6 2011 6:08 pm

      Hah, sounds good to me girl!

  7. Barbara / Jan 6 2011 3:43 pm

    Thanks for the comment! Good luck with your goals! We eat similar, although lately I think I’ve had way too many ‘indulgent’ meal…
    Barbara

  8. laura / Jan 8 2011 3:35 am

    i don’t i could beat you in an oatmeal eating contest (nice pic, btw’s…haha), but bring on the breakfast buffet made by our fave teacher hahaha 🙂

    • Kaylee / Jan 11 2011 12:52 am

      oh wait but i could beat laura and you in the oatmeal eating contest! hahah

Leave a Reply

